Scrap Steel

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scrap Steel

So I usually just donate my small amounts of scrap steel from tvs and computers to my local scrap yard for free. I recently bought a trailer so I thought why not load up and do a run to the big scrap yard. (Sims Metal - Kwinana - Perth)
    First time there and although they have a public drop off area, it really was a hassle. Had to have all the high vis, hard hat,safety glasses, gloves ect. (I work in the mining industry so I’m used to this...just not when hobby scrapping).
    I had about 480kg of scrap (I weighed it at home as I loaded it) I off loaded and went to the bridge. After watching Ben’s recent videos of his runs in Melbourne getting 16 cents a kilo , I was optimistic. Well, their public price in Perth is $76 a ton! To top it off they calculated my load @ 400kg. I guess they only work in 100kg increments. And after all that there was a $26 a ton Contrib charge. No idea what that was for but it took me down to a piddling $50 a ton. 5 cents a kilo!
    I don’t know if there are many other scrap yards in Perth paying for scrap steel but I’ll be going back to offloading it at my local yard from now on.

I go to one in Melbourne and get 15c a kg. I work out of my old, slightly beatup, but wonderful Nissan Pulsar and even then it's worth doing steel only runs.

Comment

I don’t know if it’s just Sims metal being cheap bastards or it’s just a Perth thing, but I was looking forward to doing big steel runs as the scrap season is starting next month in my area. I’ll be avoiding the steel and scrapping most things on the road side.

Comment

From what I see on your ticket, the weight is 400Kg.
        Gross weight (2840Kg) - Tare weight (2440Kg) = 400Kg.
        So I guess there are 2 options :
        (1) your scale at home is off (2) they ripped you off
        About the contrib charge or the price I have no idee what they are or if they are high or low, I'm still to new in this field