Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• G'day from WA also!

Hello all.

My name is Adam. I live in the northern suburbs of Perth. I am very new to scrapping but have always been a bit of a junk collector and re-purposer.

I work in IT and often have old and/or broken equipment that I have a hard time simply throwing out. I always wonder if it will be needed one day etc. etc.

I stumbled across a few of e-waste Bens movies on YouTube as well as Successful Engineers and a couple of others (streetips is one I think), and was fairly keen to give it a go.

I used to live in the Goldfields and have done a bit of fossicking, prospecting, and mucking around with crushing rock etc. so I guess this could simply be a continuation of my obsession with rocks and precious metals.

I'm a bit ADHD and OCD so I kind of go all out on a hobby for a while and put a fair bit of my mind into it but I also tend to try first and read instructions later.

So far I have made a dodgy ball mill, dodgy blue bowl, bought some beakers and safety equipment, and tried the hydrochloric acid and hydrogen peroxide thing.

My current results are a few coffee filters full of mixed metals and crud and a bunch of storage tubs full of water that may or may not have precious metals and other crud.

My reason for signing up here is to discuss what I am doing, see what others are doing, get some advice here and there, share my mistakes and successes (if I have any), and possibly offload components that are of no use to me but are probably useful to you guys.

Hi Adam, Welcome.

There's quite a few budding refiners here on different levels so i'm sure you'll get some good advice on what you've got going there.